The Album of My Life: a Game of Musical Representation

download (2)

The original post and creator of this tag is the wonderful Geeky Book Snob. You can see her post here!

Others who did this include The Sleepy Book Nerd and mrshbookworm. Check them out as well!

Enjoy ❤

The drill is as follows:

  • Copy these instructions, including the categories below and paste them in your post.
  • List the title of the song and the artist after each category and embed the music video (if there isn’t a music video for it then find a video of the song with lyrics – if there still isn’t one, then a link to the song in any form will do – we wanna hear the song!).
  • Tag your post with My Life Through Song
  • Ping back this blog post so I can see all your song choices – I wanna hear the story of your life! .  And, if you don’t use WordPress then leave a comment with the url to your blog post)
  • This part is optional – you can describe why you chose this song in a short paragraph OR you can just let the song speak for itself and leave it to the imagination of your audience.

Here are the 6 categories of songs:

  • The Getting to Know You Song:  This song starts off your movie. It is the song that introduces you to your audience; maybe as a child or as an adult pondering life, your choice.  Where the movie of your life starts is up to you.
  • The Love Song:  You know this one. You fell in love, maybe with a person, a place or an animal.  Love is love and this song makes you feel it!
  • The Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy Song:  You are joy personified.  Everything is as it should be and all is beautiful with the world. If spontaneous dancing and singing were to happen as you walked down the street, it would be this moment.
  • The Rock Bottom Song:  Um, happiness can only last so long right?  We’ve all been there, that moment where, just when you think you can’t get any lower, you do.  Is the whole world against you?
  • Poignant Song: This is a time of reflection in your movie.  You’ve hit rock bottom right?  Well now, take a walk in that light rain, look up at the sky and reflect…..this is the moment that your life changes.
  • The Rocky Balboa Song:  You’ve made it through your darkest hour!  Will power kicks in so pick yourself up and dust off the past! You can do it! You can make it! This is the song you turn up the volume on.  YEAH!  Fist pump that air – you deserve it!
  • The Let the Credits Roll Song:  Though life keeps on going when the movie stops an actual movie does come to an end and with it, the concluding song. At this moment we are content, we are at peace or maybe we’re still struggling yet, we’ve accepted it.  Either way, we are ready to welcome life and all the challenges that come with it.  The end.

Here we go!!!

The Getting to Know You Song:  “Stay Awake” by London Grammar

I am the blank page before you
I am the fine idea you crave
I live and breathe under the moon
And when you cross that bridge
I’ll come find you

This song really describes me at the moment: a little lost, vulnerable, and the majority of my life is still unwritten. But I suppose that is the default setting for all teenagers.

Hannah, the singer of this band has the most mysterious, ethereal voices I’ve ever heard and it just makes this song that much more memorable. Words can’t describe how much this song means to me.

The Love Song: “Falling in Love in a Coffee Shop” by Landon Pigg

I never knew just what it was
About this old coffee shop I love so much
All of the while I never knew
All of the while, all of the while it was you

I think we’ve all had fantasies of falling in love in a coffee shop ❤

The Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy Song: “Valerie” by Amy Winehouse

Won’t you come on over
Stop makin a fool out of me
Why don’t you come on over Valerie?
Valerie, Valerie, Valerie

This is the Glee cover of the original by Amy Winehouse because I can’t find a good studio version of the original anywhere. This song is so optimistic and carefree, which I thought was always sadly ironic considering Winehouse’s tumultuous life and death. Sad how people who bring so much joy in other peoples’ lives can be so unhappy themselves.

The Rock Bottom Song: I actually have two for this one. I notice that usually  when I’m feeling low, the reason is either because I’m feeling fragile and ready to break at any time or feeling jaded and disillusioned about the world and people.

“Breathe me” by Sia

Be my friend, hold me
Wrap me up, unfold me
I am small, and needy
Warm me up and breathe me

Everything from the hoarseness of her voice to the vulnerability in the lyrics perfectly illustrates that feeling when you’re on the brink of breaking.

“Brain” by BANKS

Thinking what you’re gonna say
‘Cause everything’s a game
Always trying to calculate
Trying to look smart but not too smart
To threaten anything they say

What I listen to when I’m angered by how cold and calculating humans can be.

The Poignant Song: “Youth” by Daughter

And if you’re still breathing, you’re the lucky ones.
‘Cause most of us are heaving through corrupted lungs.
Setting fire to our insides for fun
Collecting names of the lovers that went wrong

Beautifully written. Illustrates the bitter aftertaste that loss leaves in your mouth.

The Rocky Balboa Song: “Battle Cry” by Angel Haze ft. Sia

You the only person alive who holds the key to your healin’
So you take it and you run with it
And keep going even when your suns hidden
Because the time we spend in darkness when the rain comes
Is where we often find the light soon as the pain’s done

I don’t know what song makes me feel more inspired to keep going than this one.

The Let the Credits Roll Song: “More than This” by Vanessa Carlton

Let’s make this our story
Let’s live in the glory
Time it fades away, precious as a song
‘Cause someday we’ll be gone

Appreciating the beauty of the universe because time is precious. Inner peace is the ultimate goal.

Leave a Reply

