Flesh

3203925405_3819d7d91b_o

The looseness of my flesh is unsettling
It can hardly contain the wiry jumble of my bones
ashen and grimacing under the backdrop of a sky
that doesn’t belong to me
They rattled my heart around its fragile ribcage
and downed my desert-ridden throat with sultry whispers of
a gilded pavement where I could
live
love
cry
Until they signed their names with a splatter of seething blood
leaving a tear in an otherwise flawless existence of grinding, mind-numbing echoes
that unfurl like smoke chasing after time

Leave a Reply

